Alone in the cold,

Reminiscing of the past,

Waiting for sunlight.

I saw this while out one Saturday afternoon, killing time while my daughter was at a pottery class.  Every day on my way to work I drive past a nondescript commercial building, who’s only distinguishing feature is that there appears to be a trailhead of sorts out behind it.  Recently, our town’s park department was out there, busily putting up a park district sign and the required garbage can, and Voila!  Another place to walk and explore!  So I did just that, walked, explored and looked.  This flower head just caught my eye, with its dark simplicity against the white snow.  Even now, this photo speaks to me of our tendency to withdraw from the world during winter, enclosed and waiting for the light and warmth to return.

Leave a Reply

