Spying on the world,

Flamboyantly insecure,

Earthy Peek-A-Boo.

Once again I was out in the woods with my camera when the bright splash of orange caught my eye.  Such humble little photographic subjects, but that silly little mushroom just made me smile.  I knew that I wanted to include this photo on my blog, but I have been very distracted these past couple of weeks by some issues with my daughter,  and was not able to work on this entry until now.  Having a daughter in middle school is both a wonderful yet frustrating time as they try to figure out so many things.  Their world seems to have expanded by leaps and bounds, and they find themselves trying to figure out who they are and how they fit into this new space.  More responsibilities, more distractions, and more learning about how some people play nice and other people do not.  That is what this photo symbolizes to me…a basically confident young person (only the essentially confident would wear orange!), peeking out of the drab and overwhelming leaf litter of middle school.   With luck, all the ugliness of middle school will eventually be reduced to detritus, and they will grow and stand proudly above it all.

8 thoughts on “I See You

  1. Mom would have loved this posting… it made me think of her and the frustration she expressed (as a parent) with those middle school years. Here’s hoping I can learn from her and your experience when I enter into it with Lyle & Otis!

  2. first of all, thanks for liking my post. I love this photo, as aside from the fact that you have a good eye, it confirms for me something which I write about often, and that is living mindfully, in each moment, being aware of all the beauty joy and magic there is in each moment, and acknowledging it with gratitude. I hope you will find more posts to enjoy on my blog and I look forward to seeing more of yours as well.
    I love living in the moment and my camera helps me to RELIVE these small but wonderful moments many times over.
    thanks for sharing
    with love light and JOY
    Jane

    1. Thank you for the kind words, Jane. I do look foward to enjoying more of your posts! I agree with you about the camera being a great way of reliving the small moments, and I truly am loving sharing these moments with others.

      Cathy

Leave a Reply

